My car shopping experience - Toyota RAV4 Forums
Shopping and Test Drives Discuss the various issues that come into play when you are test driving, comparing and pricing the RAV4 with other SUV's.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 11-05-2012, 02:33 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
My car shopping experience

I am a retired engineer, and have been driving full sized American pickups for many years, mostly 4wd, and decided to buy a new smaller SUV for the times we don't need the truck. I considered the possibility that I might want to use the vehicle on occasion to tow a boat or small trailer, but that would be a relatively minor issue since I have a full sized V8 truck for long or rough trips. After some research I narrowed it down to the CR-V, RAV4, Escape, Tiguan, or several Subaru models.

Here in central Oregon we have the Cascade range and Mt. Hood, and there is a lot of snow. Subarus are everywhere you look. Our closest friends have a 2011 Forester and love it even though they have already had a blown head gasket, blown AC compressor, ongoing electrical problems, etc. I have another good friend who had the timing belt go in his almost new outback. Horror stories abound. Servicing the very complicated AWD system is expensive and good mechanics are hard to find. Subaru is the only AWD system that requires you to buy 4 new tires if you have catastrophic damage to one.