Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

Trailer Hitch Install Advice

35K views 58 replies 20 participants last post by  ekimsepol 
#1 ·
I just bought a Curt trailer hitch from eTrailer for my 2016 RAV4 XLE Hybrid. It will be used for a bike rack. Now I need to have it installed as I have no desire to do it myself.

Local Toyota dealer and a trailer hitch business both want $220(!) to do it. To me that is too much to pay. Should I try a regular general automotive garage? Any other advice or suggestions for this?

#2 ·
It should take far less than an hour for a mechanic to install it, I'm no pro and it was done in 45 minutes including positioning and backing onto ramps, at $100 and hour, that's about what they should charge. They will have to remove the factory tie down brackets and trim a plastic panel, but it's no big deal.

#6 ·
Install Tips

Here is part of the tips that I shared for the Hybrid that might be helpful to you:

Installing Hitch and Wiring

I chose the 1 1/4 hitch because I use it primarily for a bike rack and for an occasional trailer pull. It is also available in the 2 inch size.

Actually, on the eTrailer site Curt hitch there are numerous pictures and a complete video for the hitch install and the page for the wiring kit also has a good installation video.

These installs apply to the 2013-2016 Rav4.

Modifications for the hitch - cover panel to modify:
The 2016 RAV4 Hybrid has a plastic cover panel covering the tie down rack. It was easy to remove, but it had to be modified and replaced after the hitch installation. I just used a cutting tool to cut away a small part of the plastic cover to make room for the hitch before reinstalling.

Trailer Hitch Site:
https://www.etrailer.com/p-C12108.html

Hitch Wiring Kit:
https://www.etrailer.com/tv-install-...v4-118578.aspx

If you are going to do the wiring yourself .... you will need this "Trim Panel Tool" or something similar:
https://www.etrailer.com/Tools/Power...ALL648544.html