Stop to engage 4 wheel drive?? - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.1 General Discuss anything RAV4.1 related that doesn't fit in the categories below.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 02-20-2007, 09:22 PM
Eddie1962

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Stop to engage 4 wheel drive??

Hi, I am new to RAV4 ownership and also the 4x4 in general. I have recently purchased a secondhand RAV4 estate 2.0 petrol, manual gearbox. Unfortunately it did not come with an owners manual. What I would like to know is when can I engage the 4 wheel drive, and also disenengage? Do I have to do it when stationary or at what speeds is it safe to do so?
Many Thanks
Eddie Robinson

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 04:41 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hi Eddie,

Your Rav is PERMANENT 4WD

You cannot engage/disengage it.

There is a button on the dashboard to lock the centre differential if you get stuck in mud, snow etc. I posted a large section from the owners manual on the forum a month or so ago. I'll dig it up and post a link to it

Enjoy your Rav!
#3 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 04:45 AM

Here's a link to a similar post, in which I replied with the info from the manual regarding the diff lock.

My post is the 3rd one (not including the advert)

AussieRavers links are worth a look at too

http://rav4world.com/forums/viewtopi...371&highlight=
#4 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 12:52 PM
chrisg

Center Diff Lock

Hi All

My 1994 Rav doesn't sound a buzzer or anything when turning off the Center Diff Lock?
The LED in the button comes on and stays on when pressing the button, then pressing it again the green LED just goes off no buzzer or anything. Do I have a problem, is there anyway to tell that the diff lock is engaged other than the light?

Thanks

Chris

#5 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 01:04 PM
chrisg

Center Diff Lock