my 1996 RAV4 needs a new clutch - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.1 Faults & Fixes Got a problem with your RAV4.1?
Share it here and maybe even find a solution.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 02-10-2005, 01:14 PM
Anonymous

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
my 1996 RAV4 needs a new clutch

but calling around gets me vastly different pricing - most repair places (including the dealer) say that the clutch is very hard to get to, so lots of hours of labor charges. But one place, A-1 clutch and brake in Renton says they can do this for $500 incl. new parts - maybe I'm just not asking the right questions, or maybe they're just really fast about it and are set up with the right equipment, etc. Any ideas? i've never written in a forum before, but this could be fun. I really like my RAV and have taught both my daughters to drive a stick in it (hence the clutch issues )

thanks anyone for your opinion

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 02-12-2005, 03:54 PM
kidong

You can buy one off ebay. Cost like US130.00. It comes with pressure plate, bearing, new clutch plate etc. Pretty much a kit. Ask someone to do the labour. CHeaper that way.

#3 (permalink) Old 02-12-2005, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Personally, I would stick to an OEM Toyota clutch, they last longer and are better quality than most aftermarket clutches. You can pick up the Toyota clutch from the dealer and have another shop do the install to save money. However, brands such as Valeo, ASCO(Aisin), Luk(Aisin), and Daikin/Exedy are also suitable replacements. Supposedly Toyota clutches are made by one or more of those companies anyway, but I would still stick with OEM just for simplicity.