Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

rear hub R&R AWD

5K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  caddylover 
#1 ·
Hello all. I have a nasty growling coming from left rear bearing. Doing some research I am going to attempt to do this myself as i have the proper air tools and access to a press. My question is, looking at diagrams on the assembly of the rear hub and attachments, is there any way to just pull the complete unit (axle hub and bearing) from the vehicle without removing all the rear brake assembly? I have never done drum brakes before as all my vehicles have been disc, but i guess if i have to learn, then throw me right into the fire...doesn't look to be too hard but was hoping i could just take out the 4 bolts, remove, press out old and press in new.

any insight would be appreciated. thx!

#3 ·
i forgot to mention that i have a 1999 RAV4 AWD 4 door., and just an update on this project.....i was worried about the brakes being an issue....hell, that was the easy part.

first problem i encountered was my ABS speed sensor stuck in the hole in the hub. Hey, the bolt was easy to get out and i thought that this was like my Cadillac where the hub and ABS wiring are all one unit, but my service manual kept saying to take the damn thing out. Well, i shot more PB blaster and worked a screwdriver into this bad boy to get it to pry out ONLY for it to break off where the sensor goes into the hub. If you've never been covered in thin copper wire before, just do this and you'll see how much wire comes out of this sucker. i worked it all out of the hole and cursed a thousand times. Okay, well i thought, the 3 hours labour i just tried to save $$ on, just went up in smoke on this ABS sensor!!! DAMN!