Rav4's off road capabilities - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.2 General Discuss anything RAV4.2 related that doesn't fit in the categories below.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 07-22-2005, 11:15 AM
jonathan_ravman

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Rav4's off road capabilities

Hey guys ... I'm new to the whole Rav4 environment ... i just got my 2002 Toyota Rav 4 , its 5spd i got some cooper mud and snow tires on it right now ... i have yet to find a problem with my rav4. My question to you guys is ... How does it do off road ... is it comparable to the Jeeps and Trackers capabilities ??? let me know on how it preforms id apreceate it .. thnx

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 12:26 AM
anthonyd

Never taken mine on 'real' offroad like rocks and bush!

But after saying that I can tell you they rock on the soft sand. I take mine on the australian beaches just about every weekend - been over sand dunes 3 stories high with no problem.

Normal beach driving is done without even deflating the tyres (cant be bothered anymore!)

I think the rav has the advantage over the bigger 4x4's on the sand because of it's light weight not letting it bog down!

#3 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 07:28 AM
rav4_at

The RAV4 is no match for rock crawling, very steep ascent or descends due to the lack of low range(although I have driven down some pretty steep logging trails with the use of brakes) or anything really deep.

The jeeps and trackers have low range and truck body on frame construction so they are alot stronger not to mention steel bash plates underneath and better ground clearance.

Though the RAV4 is capable of going through some pretty knarly stuff(at a crawl) and it would almost embarass some on the sand and dirt trails(its light and manuverable).

It is very light and should you get stuck, you can winch yourself out easily(I use a 2 ton hand winch stowed under luggage compartment).