Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

Should I replace Sway Bars and Exhaust System?

3K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  vanib 
#1 ·
I hear rattle sounds when going over bumps. Brought it to local shop and they said the following:
1: The sway bars deteriorating, so needs to be replaced, and could be the source of the sound. Cost: $180
2: The exhaust system is leaking at multiple points...the whole thing needs to be replaced. Cost: ballpark ~$2,000

I don't know much about cars. I had this RAV4 since 2002 and it has almost 150k on it. My question is:
1: I'm going on a 600 mile road trip in a few days. What are the risk of NOT replacing it, safety-wise?
2: If it is worth it to fix? Over the past two years, I already spent $4k on other repairs. Getting heat from wife to replace the car since she feels its not safe. Is it even worth it?
3: If it is worth it, are the prices reasonable? I am not a mechanic or am skilled in any way, so bringing it in is my only option.

Appreciate the help!

#2 ·
I would be a little suspicious of them saying the sway bar is deteriorating, seems more likely that it would just be the sway bar bushings or end links, but I suppose it's possible. Either way, I would get that taken care of before a long road trip.

A leaking exhaust system is not a safety issue unless there is exhaust getting into the cabin, so you could probably hold off on that and/or get a second opinion.

#4 ·
I agree with Kryten. The anti-sway bar is a big heavy hunk of iron. It's extremely unlikely it would ever wear out. Most likely it's bushings or links. But unless you throw the car into corners you don't even need an anti-sway bar. The only issue you'd have is the rattling over bumps you mentioned. Annoying but only that.