Detailers-Offer an opinion on an architectural issue! - Toyota RAV4 Forums
Off Topic Want to talk about something besides the RAV4? Go for it! NO POLITICS PLEASE!!!

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 01:40 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
Detailers-Offer an opinion on an architectural issue!

OK, here's the deal.
I'm an architect. I'm working on a 1970 school building.
There's some "mansard roof" construction at an exterior overhang.
The sloped siding is "aluminum batten seam siding".
It's original 1970 vintage. At this point, it is somewhat oxidized and not looking great although it is mechanically sound. I don't want to pull it all off and recreate it.

From recent investigations into detailing, I am wondering if we might approach this with compound/polish and a DA? I'd have to guess at how aggressive a compound/polish and what color foam pad to use, but it seems like in general it might be approachable. One fear that I have is that treating the raised "batten" strips would tear the heck out of the pads in no time.

And then, once that's done, what sort of sealant woudl be most appropriate for raw aluminum.
We could clear coat it with an automotive catalyzed clear-coat, but then once that starts breaking down, it really is untreatable. I prefer a clear polymer sealant that can be stripped and refreshed as needed.

OK, send me your thoughts. Appreciate it.

2009 RAV4 Sport 4WD V6 SAP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Either create an album, and then link your pictures. Go to USER CP in the black "toolbar" , Click on "Picture & Albums", add your pics and copy the assigned links to your thread. This works great if you have to reference the same picture in many threads as you use less space towards your quota.

2008 Base Rav4, 4 Cylinder, 4WD
My upgrades Allen Spare tire Bike Rack