Need info on snow tires - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.3 General Discuss anything RAV4.3 related that doesn't fit in the categories below.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 10:25 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
Need info on snow tires

Newbie here, great site,Ii have a 2010 rav v6 sport w appearance package Looking for snow tires. I would appreciate any info on what owners are using I drive a lot in upstate NY. I have run flat tires. Im i crazy to think about buying non run flat snows?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 11:57 AM

I have experienced with the Micheline Xice Xi2 on my other car and it handles acceleration and braking very well , just remember snow tires wont help when you turn around the bend to fast... Laws of phyiscs wins.

The best thing about this Xice is very quiet ride and does not wear very fast. I am still using the same winter tires after 4 years or 3 winters had gone by and still treads are 95% new. =). It handles very well like an all season tires .

Currently the Xice Xi2 was replaced by the new Xice Xi3 and I bet this current model is much better! Both basically have low rolling resistance which means less drag , better fuel mileage. I highly recommend the Xice.

If you want a more aggressive tread bites, Nokian tires specially the hakkas are great! I would say better than the Xice , but it might not be as quieter than the Xice or treadwear might notmbe as good as the Michelin. Also, the cost is more...

A8-RAVY8
#3 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 12:07 AM

Does anyone even make run flat snow tires? I haven't heard of such a thing.

Are you getting a second set of rims? If so, I would recommend going down to 16" to keep costs lower. 225/70/16 is the tire size I have on my Limited. Take a look at the General Altimax Arctics. Take a look at the reviews and videos on Tire Rack.
#4 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 11:18 AM