Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

9005 LED replacement

8K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  dubRAV4 
#1 ·
Just replaced my regular 9005 Bulb ( DRL/ High Beam Light) with a LED 9005 bulb.
For Day light driving the Light does not work, and with High Beam it is On, but after 1 minute start to Goes OFF for few seconds and again goes On and so on....
Please let me know if anybody have similar experience and any solution. I am new to LED light bulbs for cars.(RAV4 2006 limited/I4)
Thanks,

#2 ·
Reading your message I think you maybe bought Chinese LED lights...

The reason why the daylight/dimlight is not working can be a wrong wiring connection.
Why the LED is going on/off all the time can be a heat dissipation problem. (to hot-OFF, cool again-ON)
Or both problems are caused by wrong wiring connections, that is also possible.

I think it is wise to contact your supplier with the questions, to explain.

#3 ·
You Are right.. supplier is Chinese and I think the Heat is the issue for going ON to Off and Vise Ver.
But These days what is not made in china my Friend? :))))))))
I asked them, they just say Sorry....
I have read that need to add a Resistor, since the Amp is too high for LED, and the Day light does not work since the voltage is 6V.

#6 ·
If you want LED lights instead of the original halogen bulbs or aftermarket Xenon light, then I advise LED lights with a seperate driver/power supply.
And be sure that the LES light it self has a proper heat sink to control the heat dissipation of the LED.

#12 ·
DO NOT put LEDs/HiDs in your REFLECTORs.

It is very UNSAFE for oncoming traffic.

with that said...

i had this setup before i decided to install PROJECTORs in...

Product Bottle Technology Electronic device

Gas

LEDs for Highbeams [9005]
Halogen for Lowbeams [9006]

During fogs or in a wooded dark area yellow tint performed well...I had the yellow tint screwed on top of the LEDs Bulb when I had the DRL(Daytime Running Lights)