Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

How to add Foglights using OEM Wiring on the RAV4.3

467K views 370 replies 141 participants last post by  iconman 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
OK, this is still a work in progress. i would like input / feedback from the community to help refine the documentation :wink: TIA!

And of course - be forewarned: i do not work for Toyota, am not a mechanic by profession, and should not be considered an authority on any of the systems dealt with in this write-up - so if you do this, it's at your own risk!

Much of the info and diagrams came from this document: http://techdoc.toyota-europe.com/ai... kit LHD RHD PZ457-X0511-00 AIM 000 539-1.pdf

Project: Add Fog Lights to RAV4.3 using OEM Wiring (USA)
  • Advantages: Simple installation, OEM quality setup, factory behavior - fogs only operate if low-beams are on, plus dash indicator light functions as designed:
  • Potential Disadvantages: factory behavior - if you want the fogs on w/o the low-beams, sorry! and may be more money - OEM relay is ~$50, but NAPA one is only $9...
Parts Used:
  • Ebay OEM Style Fog Light Kit 06+ RAV4: $105 shipped, got mine from
    Seller:Trendgear but at least 1 other seller carries these; at least with this kit the panel switch fits perfectly into the 06+ knockout
  • Toyota Relay: P/N 90080-87026, got it for $48.50 shipped from Greentree Toyota in CT
    OR get a compatible relay for about $8 from NAPA Auto Parts Store, part # is AR614 - thanks to Bigal8553 for this find!
  • Misc: Wire Tap Splice(s) and other wiring tools, 10mm socket & ratchet, screwdriver, etc.
Electronics:

> Disconnect the battery - i'm told that's important when installing the relay.
> Remove the instrument lower panel (undo 2 screws and pull), fuse box cover, then the steering column lower cover. be careful removing the steering column cover, as the clips can break easily.