Can I replace just 2 tires? - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.3 Exterior Tires, Wheels, Lights, Spoilers, Flares, Bars, Tow Hitches, etc.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 03-17-2011, 11:42 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
Can I replace just 2 tires?

2007 limited V6 4x4, can I safely replace just 2 tires?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 03-17-2011, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
short answer: no

long answer: you can get away with it, if the new tires have the same circumference as the used one that are staying on the car, because if there is a difference between the front and rear, you will put strain the the rear dif.

I would not take that chance!
#3 (permalink) Old 03-17-2011, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member

I think you can safely replace 2 tires on an axle if you have safe tread on the other axle. I am not an expert on tires, and I know it. I believe that if a difference quarter of an inch in tread was damaging to our cars, the Owner's manual would say so.

Some cars are more sensitive to tire size differences. The manufacturers of those cars say so.

2009 V6 4wd Base
#4 (permalink) Old 03-17-2011, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member

Is it safe? Yes. Will it harm your vehicle immediately? Probably. Will it harm your vehicle in the long run? Probably.

You are probably replacing 2 because you wore them down and didn't rotate often (just a guess so don't kill me). If you get 2 new ones, the diameter will be off. between the front and the rear (assuming you are changing either 2 fronts or 2 rears). If the diameters are off, you are risking vehicle predictability in handling and emergency maneuvers. Also two sets of tires (assuming you aren't buying the same brand) will wear differently and have different handling characteristics.

So the moral is:
1) Rotate your tires to wear evenly and then replace all 4 at the same time
2) Replacing 2 is not the safest of safe but it will not kill you