P0137 o2 slow? - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.3 Mechanical Intakes, Exhaust, Tune-ups, 4x4 system, Suspension, Brakes, etc.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 07-21-2013, 04:45 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
P0137 o2 slow?

I introduced myself earlier in another forum, but I'll recap. I'm 57, ASE CMAT l1 with over 35 years professional experience. I am a Missouri Recognized Repair Technician, and am our shop's check engine light/drivability diagnostician. This past Wednesday evening, I fired up my wife's 2010 RAV4 (4 cylinder) and was presented with a MIL. Wonderful. Something for me to repair on my day off. I found a code P0137, meaning the rear O2 had low voltage. Checking my AllData (SomeData) and Mitchell at work, I found no service bulletins for this code. I cleared the code, and have driven the vehicle over 200 miles without the light coming back on. My information says this is a two trip code, meaning the PCM has to see low voltage from the rear O2 for two trips. The dealer does not stock this O2 which means it is not a common part to fail. My wife went against my wishes last week and filled up with a lower quality fuel. I always buy Quiktrip fuel. She put in some Motomart junk, and I'm thinking that might have been the cause of the low voltage. But why wouldn't it affect the front O2 as well, or pop a fuel trim code? I've been diagnosing and repairing check engine lights since 1981, and this stumped me. Any thoughts from the members here? If the cat was going bad, I would assume the volts would be high. Another thing that puzzles me is that the light popped on right when I started up the RAV4. Immediately. I'm thinking programming, but why now? Why not at 40K unless the rear O2 has deviated and is supplying lower voltage and the threshold for the code to set is too high. Also, my wife had just driven the RAV4 from work, about a 20 minute drive, not more than 45mph all the way. The RAV4 sat in the driveway for abou