Oil consumption in my 2006 rav4/limited/I4 - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.3 Mechanical Intakes, Exhaust, Tune-ups, 4x4 system, Suspension, Brakes, etc.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 10-17-2010, 11:24 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
Oil consumption in my 2006 rav4/limited/I4

I am a newbie to here - i have a 2006 Rav4 - i love it but within the past year noticed oil consumption - to my surprise 1 day - i had a dry oil stick and had to put 3 quarts in it. This was within the 3,000 mile oil change! I did the 1,000 test 3 times with the toyota dealer and per the owners manual it is withing the normal limits. I went 1,000 miles and added a quart. I do reg maintenance with all my vehicles. Any ideas? I just had inspection and emission done and it passed but the oily was dirty. The service guy who I know well said that toyota care wont pay to take the engine apart to find where the oil is going because there is no obvious leaks or smoke. thanks if you can help

Last edited by JuneBug; 06-07-2011 at 02:43 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 10-17-2010, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member

3 quarts within 3k miles! That is pretty incredible, especially since you apparently did not notice any such oil loss before now. How many miles do you have on the RAV? If you are losing that much oil you are either seriously burning it or leaking it.

You said the oil was' dirty' after an emissions inspection. How do you know it was dirty? Just because it is dark does not necessarily mean it is dirty. Was it dirtier than when you normally did the regular servicing?

Hmm..another dramatic problem by a first time poster.

08 RAV4 Limited AWD V6
05 RAV4 S FWD 5spd -traded for 08
99 RX300
2012 Corvette ZR1
90 454 SS truck 425rwtq
#3 (permalink) Old 10-17-2010, 12:13 PM

(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAV4Don