Engine Knock !! - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.3 Mechanical Intakes, Exhaust, Tune-ups, 4x4 system, Suspension, Brakes, etc.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 11:53 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation Engine Knock !!

Well,
I have had a very loud engine knock cold for some time. I bought the car used from a local dealer, with 49k on it and it know has 55k, and on cold start the thing literally sounds like a diesel. It knocks all the way to my sons school and back home (people turn to see what is coming), over 30 minutes before it begins to quiet a bit. You can still hear some slight knock at idle. I have had one Toyota tech tell me it is "normal piston slap" UHH!! no way, I was a master tech in the late 90's and this is not normal, so I took it too the dealer where I bought it and they did a TSB-0094-09 for updating the VVTi cams and gears. They agreed this was one of the loudest knocks they had heard and the Advisor said these engines should not be sounding like diesels or knocking.. So, I picked it up and it was exactly the same. Drove around the parking lot at around 15-20 MPH slight acceleration and the thing just knocked. My wife drove with me at home that night and asked how come the motor was knocking, "I thought they were fixing that?"- So here is my question, how many have a loud diesel knocking noise that does not ever really go away and lasts for a long time even on 50-60 degree mornings... I put my chassis ears on the block (rear) and you could hear the loud knock and it gets extreme with slight acceleration, so I put it on the front opposite corner and it is quieter. Seems to be on the firewall side cylinders. The update did nothing for mine.

Last edited by 07RAV4; 10-11-2011 at 11:56 AM. Reason: update- car is now back at dealer for morning cold start and drive! Waiting to hear back from them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 12:00 PM

(Thread Starter)