Used Rav4 owner - prevetative maint. question - Toyota RAV4 Forums
4.2 General Discuss anything RAV4.2 related that doesn't fit in the categories below.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 02:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Used Rav4 owner - prevetative maint. question

Hello....newbie here...Have a 98 Camry with 400K miles and still runs strong and gets 28mpg. Just added a second Yota: 05 Rav4, Sport, Auto, 4WD, I4, with 150,000 miles. One owner before us and it is very clean and they seem to have kept current with maintenance. Question: without knowing the EXACT maintenance history, what all would you do/check to insure it's up to date preventatively speaking. I'm especially curious about steering/handling components and sensors as it seems some people have had issues related to worn or dirty parts that affected the handling systems of the vehicle. I would rather check things out, where possible, before I have issues, rather than wait until issues show up. Thanks in advance for any advice you might have.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Garage
I put together this list of things for anyone with an older car that they want to keep running.

A few recommendations for anyone, get some basic hand tools, a good Bluetooth OBDII scanner with Mode 6 Fault Code (Mode 6 Fault Code preferred) along with an app called Torque, a good autoranging multimeter, a fox & hound (for tracking electrical problems), a set of torque wrenches, and do most of the work yourself. You'll be surprised at how good it feels to do your own maintenance and not have to pay out the big bucks for work on your car. The alternative is sending a 20 year old car to the mechanic every time she hiccups and being sent to the poor house. Some preventive maintenance recommendations: