Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm sorry my first post is a sad one. My first ever car, a 1998 blue 4 door Rav4, that I've been driving since 1997 was hit on the passenger side a couple of Thursdays ago. The passenger side doors were damaged, the front passenger door was bent outward and open (no glass damage surprisingly), the alignment is all offset about 180 degrees, and there is possible frame damage as the glove box doesn't want to close properly now. Still, I was able to drive it to work and then home until the insurance company towed it for assessment. From the inside or any other side except the right, you'd barely be able to tell it was damaged except for the gap above the front passenger door.

Alas, they declared it a total loss as they say the total damage exceeds the market value, and there may be more hidden damage not immediately evident, even though it is still driving.

Needless to say, I'm heartbroken. I kept it in very good condition all these years, regular checkups at Toyota, drove it all over the place on many long trips.

I feel like it's such a loss, not only the car with so many memories, but also another classic 90's Rav4 off the road.

I will have to get a new car, but what should I do with the old one? They want my permission to sell it for salvage, and will pay me the market value, which might only be around $1500 Canadian (I'm in Vancouver).

They said the damage was at least $5000 dollars and possibly considerably more. :(

Vince

Attachments

·
Registered
124 Posts
No recommendations but sincere condolences. It must be frustrating to take such good care of a vehicle and then have it taken away by the presumed carelessness of others.

·
Registered
412 Posts
Hello everyone,