Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

2005 Toyota Rav4 All Terrain Tires

8K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Mistermike 
#1 ·
Hello all, Im fairly new to the RAV4 world and would like to hear your opinions.
I recently purchased a 2005 RAV4 AWD with original rims and all season tires (235/60R/16).
I need to get new tires as my current ones are near the end so I thought why not get a set of all terrain tires that look a little more aggressive.
Im wondering what tire sizes I can get away with on a factory 16 inch rims, something semi aggressive but that wont ruin drivability or stress the powertrain too much.
Any help/advice is appreciated...

#2 · (Edited)
There is so much choice... your budget is the limit! 215/70/16 is the other original tire size for our RAV4. The tallest you can go is 225/75/16.... but 235/70/16 would be a good choice also.

#4 ·
. . . something semi aggressive but that wont ruin drivability or stress the powertrain too much.
Understand your request is a bit of a paradox: with no way to mechanically alter the gear leverage multiplier from the drivetrain, everything you do to add mass will cause a corresponding impact to drivability.

The question may be, how much impact are you willing to tolerate? An implied question may be what your expected use for this RAV will be?

As a technique only, mine is to modify the suspension for ride height and comfort, then focus on rubber compound and tread pattern for the tires.

But like Commando said, lots of choices, there's a suitable tire for everything.

#5 ·
So I put BFG KO2 in size 215/70/16 on my 2001, a few observations so far, even the 215 profile looks great with those beastly knobs, seem quite durable as tested on some fairly rutted/rocky FS roads.

MPG hit: The best mpg has been under 27, I think on highways with less stopping it will be a tab bit better. Sometimes I wonder what would a set of "QUITE" All Season will give (roof rack cross bars and rears seats in storage to maximize mpg)