Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering replacing my audio system in my 2009 Rav4 Sport for a number of reasons, not the least of which is that my backup camera has failed, and the dealer wants over $600 to replace it. Since this appears to be more than a new Android based head unit with a backup camera included, that's the option I'm considering.

I'm considering this head unit: Quad core 1024*600 HD Screen 2 din Android 4.4 Toyota Rav 4 RAV4 Car DVD Player Audio Video stereo GPS Navigation Radio 3G wifi-in Car DVD from Automobiles & Motorcycles on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group

How difficult are these to install?

I've done a complete replacement of the head unit and speakers on 2001 Honda CRV a few years ago, so I'm slightly above complete newbie level, but not much.

My biggest worry is routing the wiring for the backup camera. How difficult is this really?

I may or may not replace the factory speakers, but if I do, I was hoping to just get some brackets and wiring harnesses so that I could use the existing wiring for the speakers

One option I'm also considering is adding a external amp. I've salvaged an Alpine MRX-V60 and a sub (not sure which model) from a friend's car that was scrapped, but the wiring looks fairly involved for that. Would I still be able to use the existing for the speakers, or would I have to run new wiring from from the amp?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,692 Posts
I just installed the speakers on my 09 Sport last week and the Pioneer head unit was installed a few months ago. My double din stereo was just a bluetooth with usb input with no video or gps. The install should be fairly simple if you are good with wiring. There are many threads you can research that shows how to install and youtube video also.