Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2010 RAV4 / 4cyl. / 2WD /Base model
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no mechanic, but I'm learning what I can as I go. I am hoping that someone here could help me determine what is likely the cause and some general guidance towards me fixing it.

2010 TOYOTA RAV4
Base // Automatic // 4 cyl // 2WD

Recent maint. Performed:
-- Oil/air filter change (~2 mos).
-- Front & Rear brake pad & rotor replacement (~3 mos.)

CURRENT MAINT. ISSUES*
Humming Noise
Started suddenly, does not seem to affect driving, no warning lights lit on dashboard.

While idling (from cold start) there is a humming noise coming from (looked under the hood, best guess) the front portion of the engine.

Humming gets louder when revving the engine while in park and when driving at low speeds (higher speeds not sure, can't hear).

Squeaking/Squealing Noise
Started after I changed out the front and rear breaks and rotors. (All parts purchased new)

Noise most noticable at low speeds, hard to determine if it is more audible while breaking or accelerating, but seems to relate to both/either.

No noticable affect on function of vehicle in any way.

Tire Pressure Warning Light
Dashboard indicator light stays on even after manually checking each tire to confirm proper inflation.

That's all for now.

Any help at all will be greatly appreciated -- anything to get my wife off my rear!

·
Registered
2010 2.0 VVTi RAV 4
216 Posts
Plus 1 for the spare tyre if you have one - if not, are you able to scan the tyre pressures to see what the module "thinks" the pressures are - may give you direction to look at.