Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone i'm confuse because i saw in google my 2012 rav4 4 cyl is suppose to do 24 mpg in city and is only doing 16.6 average is something wrong with the car or i have to go to the dealer and complain about it? i was checking on the internet first before i go there any suggestion? thanks.:frown

i only have it for 2 weeks thats why im asking, im new with this car and no idea about it.

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
You've had it 2 weeks and you have gone thru maybe 1.5 tanks of gas most likely...are you using the MPG readout on the speedo cluster? If so then don't...you must track your miles and then divide that by the number of gallons of gas used and this must be done over several tanks...and many factors play a roll in gas mileage so Joe Blow my get 24 and you may get more or less...

·
Registered
118 Posts
It doesn't matter if you're new to this car or driving a lamborghini or driving a big truck. To get accurate mpg you must fill your tank and reset your trip odometer. Drive 'til empty and then see how many gallons it takes to refill. Divide the miles you've traveled by the numbers of gallons you refilled to get your mpg. Do this several times to get a good average of what your car gets. Don't rely on the car doing it accurately for you and don't calculate when you haven't even driven much.

·
Super Moderator
10,127 Posts
Probably nothing wrong with the RAV4 just a difference between your "city" driving and the EPA's city cycle. A heavy right foot (like mine :)), hilly terrain and lots of traffic lights with idling can reduce mileage significantly.

·
Registered
137 Posts
+1 Dr. Dyno above
check the air in the tires, I overinflate to 38psi but i like the firm ride.
I also endeavor to accelerate while keeping under 2K RPM. it will do it just slowly.
you start to loose MPG to wind resistance somewhere around 35mph, and she will hang out at 2K RPM at just shy of 50mph.