Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm trying to get a rooftop tent for my 2013 Rav4 LE and wondering if anyone can clarify something I found in this thread: Roof and bike racks

Someone said: "For the load bars (cross bars):
Thule makes a good product, as does Yakima, I use and abuse mine and have never had any issues. Keep in mind that even though the cross bars are rated higher, the roof itself is rated low, around 100 lbs."

Is it true that even with a good aftermarket roof rack system, I can't load more than 100 lbs on the roof of my car? With everything I've found online, I've been having a really hard time differentiating between what the OEM crossbars can handle (100 lbs) vs what the car could handle if I got a better roof rack system (also 100 lbs it seems?). It just seems like not much weight to me (btw I'm a total car newb). Thanks in advance to anyone for help!!

·
Registered
589 Posts
The bars themselves are quite flat in cross-section for aerodynamics, so most of their carrying capacity comes from the arch shape pushing out sideways on the rails. Plus of course Toyota doesn’t want these to pull a Suzuki Samurai (CR test) due to too much weight on the roof while moving. Lateral stability is a big concern with a big load up high, raising the centre of gravity.