Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, this is my first time writing a thread in this forum.
I currently drive a 2016 Rav4 SE in Los Angeles, so far I really like the car.
Normally, whenever I get a new car, if it does not have white leds from the factory, I replace all those bulbs, which I did with my Rav4 as well.

I've been reading different posts and questions and answers in this forum and just wanted to clarify things up for people that are still confused regarding their H16 fog light bulb!

My Rav4 Spec:
My car came with LED DRL, LED HEADLIGHT, Halogen Osram H16 Bulb for the FOG LIGHTS, Tail-light is fully LED, LICENSE PLATE/REVERSE LIGHT/INTERIOR DOME/MAP LIGHTS WERE ALL NON-LEDS.

My Thoughts
So I've been researching regarding the H16 / H11 confusion with the FOGS and they are pretty much the same bulb, except they have different wattage. H11 is usually used for the headlight so it's brighter with higher wattage while H16 is mostly used in the fog and have less brightness. They both fit in the socket with no problem, however there are two versions to the H16. The H16/H11 fits into our car but H16/5202 does not fit. I actually bought both and tested both bulbs myself.

And I'm not an electrician, but in the past when I had HIDs in my fogs for my other cars, manufacturer's bulb requirement (or description) said 35W so I didn't even bother using 55W HIDS for the fogs. And at that time, I used a well-known brand that they guaranteed that the bulbs I bought was 35W. Few guys at the forum back then, used 55W HID in their fogs didn't have problem, but others with 55W had their wires melted, and few had their fuse blown.

New technology with LEDs are suppose to be drawing less current yet being somewhat bright. The fogs in our Rav4 are rated at 35W for the Halogen bulbs. But the bulbs I bought from Amazon "JDM Astar" is "suppose" to be 50W but I highly doubt it.