Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
I am a new driver, have driven to Tahoe before last year but that was in June last year which was quite sunny. I am bit concerned about taking my vehicle especially the hilly part of it during snow. I would be carrying chains (I don't have snow tires). I have been reading across and been getting mixed reviews about how well does RAV4 SE FWD, hold up against the snow. So looking for some advice? Any tips? Should I turn off the traction control and VSC?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
132 Posts
I have AWD with Yokohama Geolandars. AWD seemed to help keep the car in line when turning, but most of the traction was being done by the tires. Didn't have any problems whatsoever. Yes, turn off traction control.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
RAV4 HV Limited, Prius Prime Advanced
2,121 Posts
Should I turn off the traction control and VSC?
Absolutely NOT. Turning off TC is a tool for getting unstuck, but you should never drive without it.
The FWD Rav4 will do better than most FWD cars in the snow and ice, all it needs is a decent driver. Use the chains if it gets bad.

·
Registered
9,070 Posts
As long as the road is open, you have tire chains, and drive carefully you should do well with your RAV in snow. You didn't list your starting location, but if driving Hwy. 50 to Tahoe it is a good road even in winter.

·
Super Moderator
11,221 Posts
I agree with rdgrimes. If you don't want traction turn off Traction Control. If you don't want vehicle stability turn it off too.
It would have to be a blizzard for me to need chains on my FWD Accord. Your FWD RAV4 should be the same.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
Tire tread depth makes all the difference, especially if you are running all-seasons in the winter. Get out and practice on a snowy / icy empty parking lot and determine your level of control with whatever tires you have, practice driving manuevers, etc.