Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Aloha all,
Newbie here -picking up a new 17 LE Hybrid 2wd for the wife on Saturday, trading in her 07 Rav4 Reg. Noticed the LE does not have the fog light kit like the XLE's. Assuming these are interchangeable parts and most likely pre-wired except for the switch, has anyone down the install yet? Any tips on the install or which kit to purchase?

thx in advanced, did a lot of reading and searching already, great info on here!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It doesn't look like it is pre-wired. The installation doesn't seem to bad if you can follow directions. I would get a aftermarket kit as it does the exact same job on eBay than an OEM kit. It can be had for a 1/4 of the price. Here are the Toyota instructions.

wow, thank you for the file, the hardware portion looks easy enough but wow the electrical side looks kinda intense for the oem, good advice,most likely will look for a aftermarket look a like model and avoid taking the dash fully apart.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
went with a oem kit off ebay, $51, free ship, will update once I receive and install.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Any luck with the install? I went the same route, and got one from eBay as well.

The unit looks good, and lights up fine when I hook it up to a 12V source on the bench. But I have two problems:
- how to route the wires through the firewall? The existing cable bundle and hood release go through a surprisingly tight hole
- what auxiliary power source can I tap into?

I've seen czgu's video, but it's for a 2015

My wire harnesses look different on the 2017. Also has the Lane Departure button instead of Traction Control.
Any of you electrical gurus out there have suggestions?

And I agree with the OP - the instructions for the OEM installation looks waaay more complicated than it needs to be.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #8