Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

250k miles and still going strong.....

465 5
Wheel Tire Water Car Sky

Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Sky

.....my only complaint is that the interior plastics have become a little loose and as a result, some rattles have developed. Does anybody know where to purchase a variety of clips (in bulk) to replace the ones currently holding the interior plastics in place.

I've been working at a local Toyota dealership for the past two years in the service/repair department. I asked a coworker (from the parts department) if he could order all of the clips, he looked in Toyota's computer database and the clips are discontinued. Not available.

I know I can get a small variety pack from any auto parts retail store, but that's a dumb idea to buy a pack of 8 clips and only use three out of that pack. End up having to buy 100 variety packs just to have the amount of specific interior clips I need.

Anybody know of a source where I can buy in bulk?
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
1998 Rav4, manual transmission, 2WD, 5-door, JDM engine installed in 2013
370 Posts
I would be off to the salvage yard to carefully remove a number of the needed fasteners. Subsequently I might try an Armor All product to make it look like new. As a last resort, I would apply a high gloss paint to the part of the fastener that was visible when installed.

· Registered
39 Posts
A bit of tape, (vinyl, tesa etc) on the clip or fastner then installing should take care of any rattles due to enlargement of gaps along with fatigue in the clips themselves.
Use a thin tape that does not offer tons of friction, this idea btw is from custom audio guys, they work meticulously to eliminate sources of such sounds.
Good looking truck, mine has more scrapes but it runs great, esp. after removal of rear seats and spare tire.

· Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
A bit of tape, (vinyl, tesa etc) on the clip or fastner then installing should take care of any rattles