Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm getting desperate here and hope you can help. We got our 97 Rav4 just three weeks ago and the wife and I both love it. However, the battery just went out and - not thinking - I went to get a replacement.

I bring the battery back to the house and prepare to install it, no big deal, but then I notice:

Okay, so that's a problem. The terminals are not the same size as the posts.

I took the battery back to the store and the guy at the counter tells me they don't make batteries that size anymore and my only option is the strip the terminals, rewire them with new top-posts and go from there.

Okay, I've never done that before but I'm a smart guy, I've self-taught myself basic repair throughout the years. I can figure this out, maybe. Hopefully. And then I came into this quandry:

In case the image is unclear, the fuse box is meant to fit alongside the positive top-post. And that really threw me for a loop. The two are obviously meant to go together, but there's no way that's fitting on the post of the new battery.

So I'm lost. I really don't want to take this to a mechanic if I can do it myself, but I have no idea what to do. Can I find a battery with the smaller posts (the dead one I took off had small threaded posts)? Do I need to strip these wires and replace them, along with the fuse box connector? Should I just call a mechanic?

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
10,144 Posts
The easiest fix is either to buy an RV battery which has both posts and bolt style terminals or, better, buy conversion terminals which clamp to the post and have a bolt terminal. I'll actually be doing that in my truck camper today since I'm using a standard car battery in an RV. Don't remember where I bought the terminals, maybe even Walmart, but any auto parts store should have then.

Reactions: elarte

·
Registered
419 Posts