Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have read through a few posts about adding 12v plugs to the backseats/cargo area and I am looking to do that. I have a 2015 XLE AWD if that helps. I am thinking of adding 1 12v plug to the backseat and a dual USB port and 1 additional 12v plug in the cargo area. My question is how many power wires do I need to run? One power wire for each or can I get away with just one? Most likely will not have all of them used at once either...

Also, what gauge wire should I plan to use?

I am new to car wiring (and electrical in general) and unsure of how to best do this.

I am thinking of using these for the add a fuse

These for the outlets:

12v plug

USB ports

Which slots in the fuse panel by the hood release are powered that I could use?

Thanks so much for any insight and advice!

·
Super Moderator
10,144 Posts
Year and trim of your RAV4 might be helpful.

·
Registered
143 Posts
I would run wire straight from battery with in-line fuse. One 12-14 gauge wire will be plenty to handle what you be using them for. You can attach the wire to the screw terminal on battery post clamp with ring terminal..

Sent from my LG-US996 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
My apologies for not including that, 2015 XLE.

And what would the difference be of running straight from the battery vs the add a fuse option?

If the plugs are always hot (and nothing plugged in) will they still drain the battery? Or would having them switch on and off with the ignition be better?

·
Registered
143 Posts
My apologies for not including that, 2015 XLE.

And what would the difference be of running straight from the battery vs the add a fuse option?

If the plugs are always hot (and nothing plugged in) will they still drain the battery? Or would having them switch on and off with the ignition be better?