Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2020 RAV4 XLE
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to this whole world of caring about cars so please excuse my lack of know-all, but after getting my 2020 RAV4, this forum has inspired me to venture into the world of aftermarket.

Recently, I purchased the KMC Bully wheels to swap with my 17in OEM wheels. First, I brought it to the tire shop and didn't realize I needed hub-centric rings, then I brought it back with the rings and my aftermarket lugs couldn't be tightened due to the lack of clearance space. I just bought another set so here's hoping they work.

The shop is also telling me that I need new sensor stems in order to transfer the original TPMS sensors to the new wheels. They're worried the stems will rip when removed from the OEM wheels. Fun fact - Toyota doesn't sell the stems apart from the sensor so I'd have to buy 4 new sensors for my already new car. Has anyone encountered this specific issue? and were the original Toyota TPMS sensors compatible with your aftermarket wheel?

I have a 2020 XLE with the rubber stemmed TPMS sensors. Please help! I'm at the end of my wits with this thing.

·
Registered
624 Posts
Yeah, sorry about all that. Sounds like a series of avoidable misunderstandings due to things not communicated by your wheel dealer, or not fully understood by the wheel installer.

I was able to reuse my original sensors, and honestly my first guess is your tire shop is trying to get you to buy another several hundred dollars worth of sensors.

I would take it somewhere else.

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
Also the shop should have told you what size hubcentric spacers you need to buy as well. Seems like they are not giving you the best service you need in this case. Dont let it discourage you as modding is fun. There are just some not so good apples out there.

Did you get just the ring that fits between the hub and the inner bore of the rim or is it bigger than that?

·