Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 117 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Hello I am a mechanic (and owner of a 2007 Base 4-cyl 4WD RAV4) and will address the weaknesses of the 2006 to 2010 RAV4s in order of importance, the most pressing and expensive being the automatic transmission of the U code family in these vehicles. The model of your transmission is printed on the corner of the vehicle ID tag on the driver's door post. Most Toyota auto transmission are manufactured by the AISIN company and although not a bad design they do need specific care and maintenance schedule to insure trouble free life.

First and foremost you will disregard what Toyota dealers recommend and change the oil and filter every 30,000 miles in the northern half of the USA and every 20,000 miles in the lower and HOTTER states. This a bold statement but I will here explain some corporate facts: It turns out that carmakers are now often taxed on the ecological footprint each new vehicle will have in their average life, in plain English how much petroleum based fluids it will use over an average 10 to 12 years and so environmental impact before end of useful life. So in response many carmakers have "stretched" the limit in engine oil changes and others including the transmission in order to be taxed less. There is no such thing as a lifelong fluid, not even synthetics.

Secondly the fluid recommended for these transmissions has been found to be significantly weaker than previous fluids. Toyota calls it WS for world standard. Its only specific purpose and thus weakness is that it is a much thinner fluid with the main objective of saving fuel, and so by that fact alone degrades much faster.