Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm still a noob with regards to Rav4's.

has anyone tried a DIY on blackhousing lights?

J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Yes, I have smoked my headlights, I've also cleared out the amber.

This project will take a long time and although it may seem intimadating.. its really isn't that hard. The only thing u can really mess up on is being careful when the headlight is apart. The lamps can take high temps... but besure to check every so often.
Check every 5 min !!! if you have to.

DO THIS AS YOUR OWN RISK!!! just so that people wont blame me if the oven thing messes up. these are just suggections and the way I did this project.

Tools:
----------------
- Flat head screw driver
- Kitchen Oven
- Epoxy or something similar

Time:
----------------
- 1 hour if you know where every screw is
2 or 3 if you are really new to this.

Skill level required:
----------------
- Spray painting, know how to evenly coat it
- Patiants

Instructions:
----------------
These items are to be removed in order:
- Grill
- Metal insert under grill *
- fog lights or signals
- Bumper
- headlight bulbs and parking light bulb
- headlights

* The trick to removing the metal insert under grill, using a flat
head screw driver, stick it into the space between the insert and
the fender. There should be 2 clips that hold it in place, 2 on each
side.

-------------------

Preheat the oven until it reaches 250 degrees.
Place both lamps into for 15 mintues, but be sure to check
the lamps every so often.

Pry open with flat head, the glue should be soft enough pry open, the glue will still put up a fight so becareful not to pry too hard..

once its pryed open, the amber part should pop right out and the other reflector

the outer reflector is what SHOULD be PAINTED!!

DO NOT TOUCH THE INNER REFLECTOR.. IF YOU DO AND TRY TO WIPE OFF THE FINGER PRINTS IT WILL SCRATCH UP A LOT!!!!!!!