Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gotta get my pads and stuff done. Canadian RAV owners... did you go with the Toyota brand (approx $700 +labour) or did you go with an alternative brand that are just as good and saved money.... which I really prefer to do cuz $1200 bucks is YIKES!!! I'm having Toyota do the work because I want them to do/check other things I have no experience with. Any good recommendations for pads and rotors brands? I searched the 4:3 Exterior but could not find info

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Can't go wrong with Advics since they are oem brake pads.
I also had great results with the Wagner brand with their ThermoQuiet line.
Are Advics are the ones Toyota uses, or are they something I can buy and bring in?

·
Registered
53 Posts
Gotta get my pads and stuff done. Canadian RAV owners... did you go with the Toyota brand (approx $700 +labour) or did you go with an alternative brand that are just as good and saved money.... which I really prefer to do cuz $1200 bucks is YIKES!!! I'm having Toyota do the work because I want them to do/check other things I have no experience with. Any good recommendations for pads and rotors brands? I searched the 4:3 Exterior but could not find info

Thanks.
As your Rav4 is approaching 8yrs, and you live in a possible rust belt, I will suggest that Pads, rotors and calipers are in order, along with a fluid flush. There seems to be 2-3 different grades of brake parts manufactured by the companies that sell them. Unless you do a lot of high speed braking, some of the hi performance pads are unnecessary and under light braking are worse then oem untill they get hot. Have a look at

2009 TOYOTA RAV4 3.5L V6 Caliper | RockAuto

and you will see what i mean.

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,716 Posts

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Discussion Starter #7