Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

Car won't start toyota can't even figure it out

4K views 28 replies 9 participants last post by  anomily88 
#1 ·
Not sure what to do car does crank but wont start

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

#9 ·
Refurbed ecu cause the Toyota one is a over priced piece of trash I would never buy any other refurbed parts as a computer tech I know a board can be made better with good techs and also know Toyota has dropped majorly in quality last decade and will not own up to it so I will never pay 1500 for a brand new ECU

#5 ·
Do the keys have to be coded to new ECU???
Yes, if the RAV has an immobilizer. No start with no codes. Check to make immobilizer recognizes key (security light goes out). Rarely ECU. Could be no fuel. Sometimes a shorted (intermittant) injector will do this... shuts down ECU immediately to protect it and so fast that no codes are even stored. Remove plug to each injector one at a time and see if it will sputter or try to start. Code should be set for each one disconnected. If not, there is some kind of electrical short causing ECU to shut down (de-power). Check for rodent chewing on wiring harness. There are many other possibilities and when you get one like this it can take hours of troubleshooting. That is why Toyota can't figure it out. Almost all dealer techs are trained to use their Techstream computer to tell them where the problem area is at but with no information from their computers, they are clueless. This RAV needs someone who can go beyond a dealership tech.

BTW, what year and engine?

Reactions: anomily88
#7 ·