Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so my rear differential axle seals were leaking and in reading here this seems common enough of an issue but there was a surprising lack of information on how to do the work so I figured I would write up a guide as there are some tricks a guy can use to make the job much easier. First of all I am going to say I am not a mechanic and I know I didn't do everything 100% correctly but hopefully this will be enough information to help some people considering doing the work. Doing this work saved me $650 on labour so was well worth it imo.

One thing I want to comment on is if you notice your seals are leaking do not waste time letting them leak. I checked my oil level right away and the oil was high enough and clean so I left it for a few days during which it was raining. When I changed my oil it looked like this...

So first things first, this is what my axle seals looked like...

Once finished diagnosing that you need to do the work these are the tools you will need.

3/8 drive socket wrench with long, short and universal extensions
1/2 drive socket wrench may be needed to break bolts free
Torque wrench
12,14 and 17 mm sockets (with one of the 17 mm sockets being shallow as possible)
10 mm hex bit socket(preferably 3/8 or 1/2 in drive)
~ 2 lb hammer
Large blunt chisel/punch(preferably brass)
Oil pump(like outboard leg oil pump)
Jack, jack stands and tire iron

Step 1: Crack wheel lug nuts, jack up car and set on jack stands. I used a hydraulic jack on the main suspension arm and put jack stands where you would normally place the jack that comes with car.