Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Considering a '04-'09 RAV4 - Guidance, please?

Looking to get my 17yo daughter into a RAV4, less than 150K miles and less than $7K. I prefer that she get the 4-cyl for fuel economy and somewhat more "constrained" power capability. 2WD is fine. I've been cruising CL for a couple of months and have a good feel for what's available in my area and it does seem that I can find what I'm looking for. I'm willing to go as old as a 2004, but prefer to get something newer if reasonably possible.

I'm not new to the used car market by any means, so I know the generic issues associated with this task, and have already registered at toyotaowners for the requisite VIN-related service history checks. However, we've never had a RAV4, although we have had a '98 4Runner and currently still have a '99 4Runner. I have some questions, though.

1) I've done some generic searching and found out that there seems to be a potential oil consumption issue on some of the Gen2 and Gen3 models, and that it appears to be limited to the I4's. If I cannot find any dealer records for addressing the oil comsumption issue, are there any tell-tale signs I can look for when inspecting a used RAV4 to see if it does in fact have the problem?

2) What other particular issues for which I should be aware and watchful?

Thanks ahead of time for any and all input/insights.

Pete

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Go for the '09 model. It has the better 2.5L engine. The previous 2.4L in the older models has a tendency to consume oil.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Since I posted the above, I've found more details on my questions. There also just happens to be a '09 with 119K just a little north of where I live (private listing CL ad, but few details, even though the VIN checks out nicely). If I can make contact with the seller, I'll be going to look at it very shortly.

·
Super Moderator
10,135 Posts