Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, new RAV 4.1 owner and general car noob here

I just got my rav back from the shop (transmission fluid flush) and thought it would be a good idea to test everything out, including the center differential lock. Not knowing how the center differential lock works, and its proper applications, I did a brief drive around my neighborhood with it on to see if I could tell the difference in handling/steering (I learned later that this is a huge no-no).

I couldn't disengage the lock immediately, so I searched the forums for a solution and learned that you have to reverse the car to disengage it. I also learned that I might have ruined my differential lock.

So I looked under the car to see if anything was bent, and it looks alright. I didn't exceed 15-20 mph while driving with it on, but I did make some tight turns. It was probably less 3-5 minutes of driving with it on.

Guys, did I destroy my new beloved car pls halp

·
Registered
659 Posts
If your lock still works (on/off), all should be OK.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Really? I should have noted it's a 1996 2 Door. To switch it off, I had to reverse about 20-30 feet. Is that normal?

·
Super Moderator
11,071 Posts
That's what I have to do to be sure my F-250 4X4 unlocks.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm starting to think it might not have even locked - the steering didn't feel decidedly different. It did beep when I had it locked and stopped beeping after I unlocked it, but I didn't really notice any other indicators. Is there a surefire way to safely determine if it's working properly?

·
Super Moderator
11,071 Posts
Is there a surefire way to safely determine if it's working properly?
Mash the gas on grass. If you can spin any tires it isn't working.

·
Premium Member
'99 RAV4.1, 3MZ-FE, E250F 4x4, Torsen Dif
2,163 Posts