Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

I'm new to Toyotas and I was wondering what direct injection system the new RAV4 has. Does it have the direct injectors and also the port injectors to help keep the intake valves clean like the V-6 has? Or does it use just the direct injectors?

Thanks in advance and for sharing any information you have about this.

·
Super Moderator
11,100 Posts
Only the Lexus has both direct & port injection . The RAV V-6 just uses port injection. The 2016 four bangers (gasoline only) use direct injection. I'm not sure of the hybrid or previous years. I do know the '16 RAV Hybrid uses an Atkinson cycle engine as opposed to the more common Otto cycle.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thank you for your reply.

I read in some Toyota articles that the new RAV4 has direct injection. When I took one for a test drive, I couldn't hear the ticking noise that direct injection cars usually make. Now, I'm not sure what type of injection the car has. There are advantages to both; I am not sure which I prefer. I was just curious which type of injection it had. Does anyone know if this engine has the port fuel injection also?

Thanks,
DanF

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
the 2.5 liter engine is multipoint electronic injection, it's not direct injection. just check Toyota.com for the engine specs... if it were direct injection it would say

·
Super Moderator
11,100 Posts
Here's an excerpt from an article on the 2016 gasser:

If you want a more traditional compact SUV experience, you can still get your RAV4 with a gasoline engine. You get the 2.5-liter direct injection engine with 176 horsepower and 172 pound-feet of torque delivered through a real six-speed automatic transmission. You have your choice of Front-Wheel-Drive or a traditional AWD system with a driveshaft.

This, from Car & Driver says the opposite:

ENGINE
Engine Type Regular Unleaded I-4
Displacement 2.5 L/152