Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

Do you think this is a dodgy installation?

• Yes

Votes: 13 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I need some help with identfiying if the Toyota branded dealership did a dodgy on me with my reversing camera installation.

There was a massive stuff around with incorrectly ordered parts and what I suspect was a lack of workman skill to perform the job, leading me to be given a loan car for a couple days.

The end result was the attached, a dodgy circular hole, a camera barely protruding that films the internal body work occasionally and a weirdly angled camera. Additionally I thought the genuine Toyota Reversing Camera was supposed to have an on screen overlay of "lines" to indicate distance.

I think they really dodgied up my installation and still charged me full price, but I am no expert which is why I have come to here to ask all of you for your opinion please

Attached are some pictures. The install was performed by Toyota Motorama at Moorooka, Brisbane QLD Australia.

Thank you!

Xavier.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,743 Posts
I'm certainly no expert, either, but the camera appears to show what it is intended to show. Can the camera angle be adjusted if you aren't satisfied with it?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm certainly no expert, either, but the camera appears to show what it is intended to show. Can the camera angle be adjusted if you aren't satisfied with it?
Yes and no. You can adjust it slightly but the perspective is warped, additionally it flaps around and is pretty loose, even at it's best angle (pictured) you can still see the inside of the body work.

I would expect this for a after market $300 / 400 job, but not the genuine parts supplied and fitted by Toyota.