Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy Rav4 World!

First time poster here, please be gentle.

Background:
I'm a hands on electrical engineer by day, outdoors man by night. I've successfully kept a '93 Jeep wrangler alive, running and upgraded for years and feel confidant to attack most problems related to old and modern vehicles. While there is far more I don't know than I do, I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty, do some research, ask some questions and get the job done.

Problem:
I have a 2012 Rav4 with around 50K miles, I4. Recently (week and half) got a CEL and traction control light. No noticable changes in performance of vehicle. I own a code reader, got home and read the following:

Engine codes were:
P0171 - Engine running lean on Bank 1 (only bank)
P0441 - Evap system incorrect purge flow
P0455 - Evap system large leak detected

I reset all codes. Vehicle ran fine for about 30 miles, then CEL and Traction light re-appeared. This time only the P0171 code was shown.

Did some research. And did following.
-Check air filter, and seal. All looks good.
-Pulled the MAF sensor, inspected and cleaned. All looks good.
-Pulled the upstream O2 sensor. Inspeaced and cleaned. Looks good but who really knows.
-Replaced gas cap with new OEM.
-Inspected all spark plugs. All look great.
-Ran a bottle of SeaFoam through gas tank. No effect.

Everytime i reset the codes. The P0171 will come back within 1-15 miles. Seems to be during idle. Twice i have seen the P0441 and P0455 come back, but not always.

Next trouble spot. I have filled the tank up twice, since getting the original codes. Each time I fill up, when I attempt to start the vehicle, it doesn't want to start. I pump the gas and eventually get the engine to fire off, but as the RPM return to idle the engine will bog and die. If I continue to keep the Revs high, after a minute or so the engine will run normal and idle fine. Until the next time I fill up.

Ideas: