Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My '00 RAV4 auto (78k km/48k miles) makes a fast ticking sound from the engine bay after the engine has been running for a few minutes. It's audible from inside the car when idling. If I look under the hood it seems to be coming from the rear of the engine bay in front of the driver, but I can't see from exactly where.

I'm no mechanic so the part that I can't figure out is why the noise only shows up after the engine has been running for a little while, regardless of engine temperature. It doesn't do it at start-up, but by the time I've driven 3 miles it's ticking. But if I turn off the ignition while it's ticking, then immediately re-start, the noise isn't there and the engine just purrs.

Can anyone identify what might be making the ticking? The car runs fine, but only having driven it about 600 miles since I bought it I'm not sure how normal this may be.

·
Registered
880 Posts
It could be valves or injectors, depending on which noise you are refering to, if you only hear it at idle that is pretty typical, if this is somehting that is evident while driving there might be something wrong. Make sure your oil isn't low, the top end will make lots of noise if it's not getting oil.

·
Registered
2,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. The oil is OK. I thought about the injectors, but I'm not sure how that would explain why I can make the ticking noise go away by just turning off the engine and then re-starting right away. Wouldn't the ticking always be there at idle if it was valves or injectors?

K

·
0 Posts
If the ticking is very rapid, like 400 bpm, it's your fuel filter and carbon canister.

If the ticking sounds like a time bomb, it's your exhaust cooling down.

Nothing wrong with it. Normal for a RAV4.

T

·
0 Posts