Toyota RAV4 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I picked up a one-owner, totally stock 2006 with 82k miles last night. I have a couple questions that'll show my total newbie status...
- The Rav is a base model, e.g. 16" steel wheels with wheel covers, black door handles, no sunroof, no roof rack, etc. But, it's got very nice leather interior. Am I correct in assuming this was a dealer add-on and did not come from the factory like this?
- The HVAC system was unable to defog the windshield last night. Granted, it was 90 degrees and about 90% humidity... and the windshield is dirty. But it fogged on the inside and out. I had the fan on high, the AC on and the dial set to defrost/fog, Recirculate was OFF. Did I do this wrong?

Thanks!

·
Registered
9,688 Posts
Welcome! Can't answer the question about your RAV's interior. The A/C should be able to defog the interior windshield, even at 90 degrees, but asking it to defog the exterior windshield is a bit much - better to use the wipers. Was the A/C blowing cold air? When first starting the A/C in hot weather it will cool more quickly by using recirc, but for defogging it generally will work better if after a few minutes it is switched to allow in outside air. If the system does not blow cold air, it is possible that coolant may have leaked out of the system and need to be replaced. One can measure how cold the blown air is by inserting a thermometer into one of the ducts, and that air obviously should be noticeably cooler than the ambient air in the vehicle.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Jim.