Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here,
I wanted to replace my halogen headlight of my Rav4 XLE 2017, bulb said its a 9012, but the shop that selling me the bulb is giving me 9006. According to him its the same bulb. Should I go for it. Thank You.

·
Registered
245 Posts
I believe the two bulbs have the same/similar base, so the 9006 should fit.
But I do also believe the 9012 bulb is brighter than the 9006. You may want to confirm this though.
Putting the 9006 bulb in the 9012 socket will work. You’d have to trim a 9012 socket to fit a 9006 housing though.
This link is helpful...

http://store.candlepower.com/mohirbuba.html

·
Registered
449 Posts
Newbie here,
I wanted to replace my halogen headlight of my Rav4 XLE 2017, bulb said its a 9012, but the shop that selling me the bulb is giving me 9006. According to him its the same bulb. Should I go for it. Thank You.
I'd go with 9012. As @J-Roc said it'll fit but there's a difference with the tabs. On a LED headlight, positioning of the LED is critical for the final light pattern. Any play on the tabs will alter this pattern.

·
Registered
236 Posts
The 9006 and 9012 bulbs are somewhat interchangeable. Usually the bases have different key tabs to prevent you from crossing them. However, many of the aftermarket LED bulb makers are simply making universal bases that are keyed to be able to fit either socket. So if they're selling a 9006 bulb that they claim to be interchangeable with a 9012, chances are they've just made it a generic base and it will probably physically fit in the housing just fine.