Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

New to the forums and new to the Toyota family (kinda).

Two weeks ago I purchased my first new car, a 2017 RAV4 Limited. Found this forum while lurking around and decided to join and make some fellow RAV4 friends.

I'm new to owning a Toyota, however I have been working on them for about 10 months now as a night technician. Although I'm only considered a "lube tech", I am familiar with servicing these vehicles and may be able to answer any questions you might have.

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,716 Posts
Hey everyone,

New to the forums and new to the Toyota family (kinda).

Two weeks ago I purchased my first new car, a 2017 RAV4 Limited. Found this forum while lurking around and decided to join and make some fellow RAV4 friends.

I'm new to owning a Toyota, however I have been working on them for about 10 months now as a night technician. Although I'm only considered a "lube tech", I am familiar with servicing these vehicles and may be able to answer any questions you might have.
Welcome to RAV4World! OK "lube tech", answer me this: Why does my dealership overfill my 2008 V6 with oil? They are consistent, always filling it about 1/4th of an inch over on the dipstick. And they always charge me for 7 quarts of oil when 6 will do. Yes, the specs say 6.2 quarts but that makes it overfilled.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to RAV4World! OK "lube tech", answer me this: Why does my dealership overfill my 2008 V6 with oil? They are consistent, always filling it about 1/4th of an inch over on the dipstick. And they always charge me for 7 quarts of oil when 6 will do. Yes, the specs say 6.2 quarts but that makes it overfilled.