Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total car newbie here.

I have a 2010, 4 Cylinder Rav4. While adding coolant yesterday I noticed this hose directly to the right of the coolant tank. It looks like two hoses taped together (both ribbed,o ne one smooth). The smooth hose has a couple cracks where it bends and the blue (plug? fuse?) it attaches to looks frayed or damaged.

Does anyone know what these hoses are and if I should be alarmed by the cracks? I searched the manual but the hoses weren't identified in there.

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
1,871 Posts
That crack that I can see is the smooth cover taped to the ribbed cover is just a wire insulator. Over time it probably dried out and cracked. Should not be a huge issue but if you are concerned about it...use some weather grade black electrical tape and wrap it around it.

If it were me I wouldn't touch it though.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That crack that I can see is the smooth cover taped to the ribbed cover is just a wire insulator. Over time it probably dried out and cracked. Should not be a huge issue but if you are concerned about it...use some weather grade black electrical tape and wrap it around it.

If it were me I wouldn't touch it though.
View attachment 151522
Do you happen to know what these wires are or what they're connected to by chance?

·
Registered
91 Posts
They are correct, it a wire loom and is used to protect wiring. It looks fine. It could be going to a sensor for water temperature. I am wondering why you are adding water though. Does it have a leak? Did you overfill it above the gold line. I had a 2010 for 10 years and never had to add a drop. If it needs filling often, check for leaks around and under engine area.

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,613 Posts
What about this blue wire? It sure looks skinned to me! What sensor is that plug for?

·
Registered
1,871 Posts