Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I have a 2004 Black Rav4. I am deciding on adding 20 inch black or chrome rims onto my car. WIll the effect of 20 inch rims affect my brakes because someone told me i need to install new brakes. also what is the cheapest rav4 full body kit you guys have seen? i am thinking about fiberglass material since it is the cheapest.

·
Registered
147 Posts
If you want to see chrome on black Rav-4.............

.......... check my post "Rockin' 20"s..........." for a link to my cardomain pic page. As for brakes, no, you don't have to change a thing..... that said, if you go with a very "open" rim like I did, you're gonna see your brakes quite easily, you might want to paint the calipers of buy aftermarket brakes that "look" better. Functionality wise, the stock brakes don't need to be changed. Hope this helps!

Ps: Here you go, I've added the link to my pic page so you don't have to hunt for it.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/1772131/1

FYI: Black rims will give the illusion of a "smaller" wheel, I was going to go with black at first as well, but the whole point of running 20"s is to have the looks of a big wheel right? Just a point to ponder, everyone has thier own tastes and reasons! Good luck, either way it will look sweet!!!

O

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
if you are looking at rims you may want to consider this. typically the bigger the rim the more rotational mass and rolling resistance you have in turn putting more strain on your tranmission and brakes. one of the key things i consider when buying rims is weight. just something for you to think about.

·
Registered
147 Posts
onikaze said: