Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello every one!!! im a newbie to this forum, but not a newbie to TOYOTA automobiles.

I recently purchased a 2006 RAV4 Sport with an I4 motor. I traded my Double cab TUNDRA I Force V8 for this cute ute. Im getting tired of paying between $60~65 a week for gas. So far, I have about 80 miles on it already and its 2 days old. This is where my question will start. I put roughly 25k to 30k miles a year on my vehicles and wanted to know if my 4 cylinder engine will hold up to around 200,000 miles cause im trying to keep this car for a long time. Im religious about my Oil changes usually every 3k miles and fanatic about MOBIL 1 Full Synthetic oil. Every now and then I put the pedal to the metal to let the carbon out but other that that i take care of my cars. I shouldnt ask this question cause i use full synthetic on my cars. but now i have a baby coming up and maybe try to save little money by switching to regular oil, should i do it?

Your kindness and consideration regarding this matter is highly appreciated.

thank you!

R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Welcome ChEckmAtE,
I too traded a Tundra for a RAV4.

I think your being fanatical about changing your oil every 3K has been what has served you best. Mobil 1 is a great product but a good quality natural oil will work just fine for 3K.

I take a vehicle to 120K but have plenty of friends and family that go 200K or longer. Non-synthetic oil has served them well. And, mine never burned oil between changes.

You'll be fine - Just change your oil as always.

Oh, and maybe someone with a 2.4 liter from generation RAV4.2 with many more miles on it can give you some advice on issues down the road. You have basically the same motor as the 2.0 liter starting in 2001 with an increase in displacement in 2004 to 2.4 liters. I know there were other incremental changes, but the longevity question will still be valid.

R

·
0 Posts