Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

Newbie here and just wanted to say what a great forum and lots of great info and insights!

Anyway, I just bought a 2001 RAV4 L a month ago & love it!

I bought this from a good friend and just noticed a high pitch sound coming from the engine compartment only during idling but disappears as soon as the RAV gets moving. My friend told me that he brought it to the local Toyota Dealership but they couldn't find anything...

Wondering if any of you have come accross a similar situation and what was the remedy.

Thanks in advance!

K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Does the high pitch sounds like metal high pitch or sound frequency high pitch?

If it's a sound frequency high pitch, it's the RAV4's dash stereo having an interference with some equipment your friend might have installed previously. Takes eons to find what the noise is. I still couldn't figure out mine yet.

R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
kidong said:
Does the high pitch sounds like metal high pitch or sound frequency high pitch?

If it's a sound frequency high pitch, it's the RAV4's dash stereo having an interference with some equipment your friend might have installed previously. Takes eons to find what the noise is. I still couldn't figure out mine yet.
Thanks for the reply kidong!

It's more of a frequency sound and coming from the engine bay. My friend kept the RAV all stock and did not add any aftermarket upgrades at all. I can barely hear it from the inside when all the windows are rolled up but very noticable when I was waiting at the car wash a few days ago. My first impression was a vacum leak but it doesn't show any sluggishness or misfires when driving.

Odd.....

K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A minor airleak wouldn't affect your performance at all. But there are a few air hoses to check. Have fun.

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Mohit said:
could be a drive belt/pulley issue