Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I have a new 2005 1.8 2WD RAV4. I am a driver almost one year and I am wondering how many RPMs is it optimal to drive the RAV?

I thought that it should be about 3000, but the engine seems to get loud... I guess that this can be normal for SUV engines. So how many RPMs do you usually drive?

·
Registered
771 Posts
Standard I guess. I generally say the lower the better when it comes to fuel economy but it really depends on what you are doing. Highway in an automatic is 2700-3200 RPM so if that is any indication to you.....?? City/ 1500 RPM at about 60Km/Hr so it really depends on the application.

I try to avoid "winding it out" all the time to prevent bustin' somthing but no doubt it could probably take it for a while. Good luck with your driving. Stay safe. Later. M. 8)

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the 2.4L, so gobbs of torque...i usually just use each gear to 2500-3000 rpms. mine does 0-60 in 7.6 seconds, so it's pretty peppy just cruising at low rpms :D

·
Registered
685 Posts
1.8L??.....I presume that's a diesel??
Can't help with a RAV diesel......don't import them to Canada, or even Nor Amer, I think......but from what I knew about diesels ('85 VW), all the torque is at low rpm, so it doesn't do any good to wind them up.....

M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's not a diesel. I don't really uderstand what the 'L' means. In Poland we only have 1.8 and 2.0 (diesel or petrol).

I try to keep the RPMs between 2000 and 3000, but on the 5th gear I have 3000 driving about 130 km/h and the manual says that the maximum speed is 175. So I guess it can take a lot more than 3000 (at least on the 5th gear). At the other hand I don't want to destroy the engine or anything like that...

M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6