Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm new to the forum but not new to vehicles, I work in the auto damage industry.

I am contemplating trading in our 2016 Subaru Forester for a 2007 Toyota RAV4 - v6 limited 4wd. W/45k on the odo and dealership is asking 12.9. 1 owner, looks very clean.

Now, I am considering this because my wife and I decided we want to eliminate all debt as fast as possible. We have already downgraded one of our vehicles for a more cheap and economical Honda Fit.

I've been reading about potential issues with this particular model and I saw the oil line (which according to the carfax could have been replaced on this particular car) which is an easy fix either way.

I came across a lot of people talking about the transmission whine and it has me concerned. I know the 07 is well outside of the TSB coverage.

Is this something I should be concerned about even if the whine isn't currently present?

Any and all help will be greatly welcomed.

Thank you

·
Registered
3,688 Posts
It is only a noise problem and does not mean the transmission will fall apart. I have it in mine but I could not tell when I got it since the brake rotors were warp causing too much noise and I was not going at the speed (50 km / hr) where it was the loudest that much on the test drive. I got use to the noise but it can be annoying so if you drive at the speed where it whines a lot. Not all V6 has this whine so you can get lucky.