Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1) i do not work for Toyota, am not a mechanic by profession, and should not be considered an authority on any of the systems dealt with in this write-up - so if you do this, it's at your own risk!

2) this involves removal of the driver and passenger airbags. Do NOT do it if not sure!!!

3) Disconnect the negative from battery before starting and wait at least 90 seconds

For fog lights installation I followed excellent write up here http://rav4world.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=10294 I used the approach that does not require removal of front bumper as note later in the thread. I pulled back the wheel well cover and was able to install the lights, took about 20 minutes

To install auto on/off lights 3 parts are needed.

These 3 parts that have specific manufacturers notes, all for sport model:

84140 SWITCH ASSY, HEADLAMP DIMMER
**140-48200
Replaced by: **140-07141
Manufacture notes: LIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM-WITH

89120 SENSOR, AUTOMATIC LIGHT CONTROL
**121-12010

82142 WIRE, INSTRUMENT PANEL, NO.2
**142-42080

note that part "89120" is incorrect it is 89121-12010, (I am providing the part numbers as they are found in the parts catalog)

Unfortunately part 82142-42080 is no longer available (it can be ordered, but it will take a long time, since it will be custom made)

So I ordered part that is for limited model:

82142 WIRE, INSTRUMENT PANEL, NO.2
**142-42050

I'm not sure what the difference is, since I could not look at part 82142-42080, but I suspect that part 82142-42080 is wired for 1 sensor and 82142-42050 is wired for 2 sensors.

Here are the parts:

Installation:

First remove the steering wheel:

FYI I was confused on how to disconnect the airbag, it took me a while to figure it out, orange connector is popped and ready to be removed